Few Random Thoughts


It’s the last week of class.  I don’t really know what to do with them.  Last week, I did picture week where we just went outside and took pictures basically, and that felt like a final class.  But, now, I have one more week.  It feels very strange to have finished a full year already.  I feel like there’s so much more that I need to do, but it’s over.  Well, I guess, I will be returning next year, even if it will be to a different city, teaching different students.  I don’t think my students can be as great as they were this year, but who knows.

I don’t really have much to say right now.  I just walked about 4 miles and ate fast food.  Everyone in there came up to me one by one and asked me if I understood Chinese.  “Yi dian dian,” I replied.  They would then giggle and run away.  I felt really horrible eating another fried chicken sandwich.  I didn’t even want it, but I wasn’t in the mood for Chinese food, and we don’t have very many options here.

I also went to the supermarket to by markers so the students can draw on some posters tomorrow…  And, one thing about Chinese supermarkets, is that you aren’t allowed to bring bags into them.  However, I’m an American, and with that, comes special exceptions.  For example:  When I walked in, the security guard yelled to me.  I said, “Shen me?” and kept walking.  Shen me means what, and it’s a very useful word for a foreigner in China.  I mean, after sometime, they will give up trying to make the dumb foreigner understand.  Sorry for making Chinese people believe all foreigners are ignorant and obnoxious…  that’s all for now..

Leave a Reply

